John T. Povlishock


Povlishock Photo

Dr. John Povlishock is Chair of Anatomy and Neurobiology on the Medical College of Virginia Campus of Virginia Commonwealth University.  He serves as Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Neurotrauma, as well as the Director of the Commonwealth Center for the Study of Brain Injury.  His research focuses on traumatic brain injury, with emphasis on neuroprotection, targeting neuronal, axonal, and vascular change.  His work has been reported in over 200 papers, reviews, books, and chapters which, to date, have been cited over 17,000 times.  For his research accomplishments, he has received two Javits Neuroscience Investigator Awards from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, which also awarded him their Gold Medal for Brain Injury Research.  He has also received the Caveness Award from the National Head Injury Foundation, the Brain Trauma Lecture Award from the Joint Congress of Neurological Surgery, the Bass Lecturer Award from the Society of Neurological Surgeons, the Peter and Eva Safar Lecture Award from the University of Pittsburgh, and the Deborah L. Warden Lectureship from the Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center.  In 2006, Dr. Povlishock was the recipient of the Commonwealth of Virginia’s Outstanding Scientist Award while in 2011, he was awarded a Doctor of Science Degree (honoris causa) from the University of Pécs in Hungary.  Over his 42 year academic career he has served as a chartered member and chair of numerous NIH review panels, while also serving as chair of the VA merit review system in neuroscience and the Commonwealth of Kentucky’s Brain and Spinal Cord Injury Research Trust review panel.  He recently completed four years of service on the National Advisory Neurological Disorders and Stroke Council of the National Institutes of Health.


Conference Secretariat
Scatterlings Conference & Events

white divider karin002


white divider lauren002


white divider

Contact Us >>
Phone: +27 (021) 422 2402


©2014. The Symposium of the International Neurotrauma Society Conference 2016.  Powered By: Scatterlings Conference & Events